To Blog, or Not to Blog?

Standard

Once again, my personally set deadline for a new blog post has come and gone without a new blog post. My sparse free time makes me question weather blogging is really a good fit for me.

I enjoy blogging for several reasons. First and foremost, I enjoy blogging to share my new creations and to get feedback on my artwork. Not a lot of people get to see my work in person, so I like to put it on as many internet based communities as I can. Although I share my jewelry with ‘show-and-tell’ intentions, I run the risk of coming off as a salesperson pushing my jewelry onto anyone who might be in my path.

That being said, I also try to incorporate other tid-bits into my blog such as information on gemstones and little lessons I might have learned as an artist. I enjoy the challenge of learning new things and passing them on. I never feel stuck in a rut when I am striving for new and exciting.

I eventually would like to post tutorials for jewelry making techniques and perhaps for other interesting crafty things.  For example, I’d love to post a tutorial on how to do peyote stitch to go along with the peyote patterns I sell.

All of these things take time, and that is something of which I am continuously short.  “Experts” (whomever they are) suggest a blogger to post 3-5 times a week.  I have a hard time fitting in one post per week!  So, the question becomes, do I blog to share the things I’ve done and learned?  or do I skip blogging in exchange for more time to do and learn?  or perhaps I eliminate my goal of one post per week and only blog when mood, content and time align?

I’m looking forward to your feedback on this dilemma!

2 thoughts on “To Blog, or Not to Blog?

I'd love to hear what you think of this post!

