Thinking Outside of My Comfort Zone

Standard

 

The completed necklace.

The completed necklace.

A lot of the pieces I do are custom orders. Recently I received a custom order for a Rihanna necklace using a photo chosen by the customer. I’ve heard of Rihanna, and was pretty sure she is a singer, but that’s as far as my knowledge of her went. I did a little searching in hopes that I could get a feel for the style required for this necklace.

First, I tackled the part I was comfortable with… the peyote chart.

2" x 4.25"

Next I attached the peyote swatch to a felt backing and added edging and fringe.

Fringe and Edging

Finally, I added the necklace straps and finished with a linked beaded chain.

Strands of seed beads begin the necklace.

Strands of seed beads begin the necklace.

Wrapped links and antiqued copper circles form the necklace strap.

Wrapped links and antiqued copper circles form the necklace strap.

Although this custom order fell through in the early stages of planning, I am glad I went through with the challenge.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect from myself as I had never done anything this far out of my style zone before.

What I learned from this piece:  Show up at your passion.  Let it guide you.  Enjoy the ride!

I'd love to hear what you think of this post!

